Saturday, August 29, 2009

Cullman Midnight Run results

The Cullman Midnight 5K took place the evening of Friday, Aug. 14, with 691 finishers.
North Alabama Runners of note include:

Bud Bowen, 61, Elkmont, 21:24 first in AG
Glenn King, 48, Athens,22:10 third in AG
Linda Scavarda, 25, Toney, 22:33 first in AG
Eric Farmer, 13, Toney, 22:51
Matt Payne, 19, Huntsville, 23:01
Barry Pugh, 41, Elkmont, 23:51
Tom Ridinger, 44, Athens, 24:33
David Farmer, 45, Toney, 25:42
Jason Farmer, 10, Toney, 25:49
Tyler Helms, 12, Elkmont, 25:59
Jonas Quillen, 42, Toney, 26:01
Dale Miller, 46, Elkmont, 26:01
Eric Schotz, 35, Decatur, 26:05
Kelly Elmore, 40, Decatur, 26:33
Jania Johnson, 35, Athens, 26:37
Mark York, 40, Athens, 26:37
Shawn Lagrone, 30, Athens, 28:13
John Farmer, 7, Toney, 29:29 first in AG
Cierci Sandlin, 15, Elkmont, 30:45
Leah Reid, 45, Athens, 31:10
Brooke Thompson, 35, Athens, 31:10
Edie Davies, 55, Tanner, 33:35
Jensen Pugh, 13, Elkmont, 33:47
Ashley Craig, 9, Athens, 34:28
Morgan Allison, 19, Toney, 39:25
Allyn Allison, 45, Toney, 39:30

Senior-most finisher was Herb Johnson, 84, Cullman, 36:33 second in AG
Junior-most finisher was Collin Quick, 4, Hanceville, 55:21 third in AG

Click here for complete AG results.

.

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Elkmont 10K Training Group

Just got an e-mail from Whitney Hollingsworth, one of the organizers of the Elkmont Lions Club Rails to Trails 10K, inviting folks to participate in training group runs at 5:45 a.m. each Sunday Aug. 30, Sept. 6, Sept. 13 and Sept. 20. Everyone run at own pace. Meet at the trail in downtown Elkmont. Any questions? E-mail Whitney at cactus2@charter.net.

Saturday, Sept. 26 - Elkmont Lions Club Rails to Trails 10K - Elkmont - Contact Whitney Hollingsworth at cactus2@charter.net or Susan Pylant at 256-732-4493 for info.

Monday, August 24, 2009

To the races...

There are quite a few good opportunities to race in and around North Alabama in the coming weeks.

Saturday, Aug. 29 - Brooke Hill 5K - Decatur

Saturday, Sept. 5 - Monte Sano 10K & 5K - Huntsville

Monday, Sept. 7 - Sacred Heart Labor Day 5K - Lawrenceburg, Tenn. Contact T. Scott Benefield at 931-766-3934 or target242@mac.com or Dr.Benefield@crockettkids.com for info.

Saturday, Sept. 12 - Duck & Run 5K - Athens

Saturday, Sept. 12 - Doc's Pump & Run 5K - Lexington

Saturday, Sept. 19 - Carlos Serrano Memorial PHP 5K - Scottsboro

Saturday, Sept. 19 - Power of Pink 5K - Tuscumbia

Saturday, Sept. 26 - Elkmont Lions Club Rails to Trails 10K - Elkmont - Contact Whitney Hollingsworth at cactus2@charter.net or Susan Pylant at 256-732-4493 for info.

Saturday, Sept. 26 - Shoals Christian School 5K - Florence

Saturday, Oct. 3 - School House 5K - Huntsville

Saturday, Oct. 3 - Run for Ronald 5K - Florence - Contact TVAAadpi@hotmail.com for info.

Friday, Oct. 9 - Goats Gallop 5K - Lewisburg, Tenn.

Saturday, Oct. 17 - Liz Hurley Ribbon Run 5K - Huntsville - Contact Michele Savage at 256-265-9452 for info.

Saturday, Oct. 31 - UCP Life Without Limits Half-Marathon & 5K - Florence

Saturday, Nov. 14 - Huntsville Half-Marathon & Heroes Run 5K - Huntsville

Saturday, Nov. 21 - Dam-Bridge 10,000 Meter Race - Florence - Contact Todd Allen at 256-627-0658 or agameco@aol.com for info.

Thursday, Dec. 31 - Millennium Run 5K - Killen - Contact Frank Spires at 256-760-9502 or fspires@spiresandassociates.com for info.

Saturday, Dec. 12 - Rocket City Marathon - Huntsville